Celebrating 40 Years of SNL

On October, 11th 1975 the game of late night entertainment had been transformed and the face of comedy was changed forever. Seven of the funniest players stole the stage famously known as the original cast of Saturday Night Live– John Belushi, Dan Aykroyd, Bill Murray, Laraine Newman, Garrett Morris, Jane Curtain and of course Gilda Radner– all thanks to the vision of producer, Lorne Michaels. The sketches are iconic, humor unprecedented and show memories left for the future generations (ahem, me) to appreciate forevermore.

Garret Morris, Jane Curtain, John Belushi, Laraine Newman, Dan Aykroyd, Gilda Radner and Bill Murray

Garret Morris, Jane Curtain, John Belushi, Laraine Newman, Dan Aykroyd, Gilda Radner and Bill Murray

For those who don’t know me, I love to laugh, love making people laugh and I LOVE this show. And if you don’t like it–you’re wrong.

SNLgirls39

Chris Farley, David Spade and Adam Sandler in “Gap Girls” in 1993

Saturday Night Live has given me so much appreciation for those who can perform without hesitation on a stage, in front of a live audience and millions of television viewers. It was my dream as a little girl to say the famous tagline in front of the audience. Alas, my theatrical background and knowledge is lacking, so perhaps I’ll make my debut as a host when I’m super famous later on in life. *wink wink*.

Anyway, as I sit in my room typing this, I am shaking. No, not because of my latest caffeine intake, but because tonight (at 8pm, folks) Saturday Night Live is hosting their 40th anniversary reunion show.

50shades-tabsmom

Dana Carvey in “Church Chat”. And yes, it is special.

This show includes handfuls of favorite hosts and music guests, such as Bill Murray, Tina Fey, Kristen Wiig, Kanye West… the list goes on. You can bet I’ll be watching, and probably live tweeting, everything that happens.

I cannot wait to see what the geniuses have in store for us tonight.

Humorously Yours, Meg

Leave a Reply

