Home Stretch

Yesterday was the last day of the spring semester before finals and honestly, I can’t believe it’s over. I clearly remember the day I made the decision to transfer schools, the day I was accepted to PSH, and obviously my first day as a Nittany Lion.

Unknown-1

Often, people ask me if I regret leaving my old school or changing my major and the answer is always no. At first, I was apprehensive to start over again. It meant I would have to leave my old friends and meet new ones, regroup with my new major and get to know a completely new campus. There was a lot of “new” things happening to me. Even though there was slight culture shock at first, I am proud to say that transferring schools was probably one of the best decisions I have ever made–and I’m not just saying that for the emotional appeal.

While it was a difficult adjustment, this past year has given me the chance to get to know myself on a deeper level. Here are a few things I’ve learned this past year:

1) You will never know unless you try. This goes for most everything in life.

2) Don’t be afraid to choose the road less traveled or to create your own path, especially when it comes to happiness. At the end of the day your life is your own, and how you want to live it is up to you.

3) Fake it ’til you make it. (Sauertieg ;))

4) Never pass up an opportunity whether it’s job-related, a quick social gathering, networking or even volunteering at a campus event.

5) Do absolutely everything in your ability to get the A, and if you got a B at least you know you gave A effort.

6) Driving in snow isn’t as scary the 7th time around.

7) If you have older friends, make sure you spend as much time with them as you can. Eventually they have to graduate.

8) Professors are humans too.

9) Smiles and laughter are literally contagious. Beware.

10) Bears, Beets, Battlestar Galactica.

11) Meditation actually works.

12) Spend time with family, you won’t be living at home forever.

13) Let the little things go.

14) Embrace your quirks, they are what make you uniquely you. The right people will gravitate toward those quirks in time.

15) Change is good, I can attest to that.

Thanks to everyone who helped me make this year a great one. WE ARE.

Always, Meg

One comment

Leave a Reply

